My own human science project

21 Jul

unseen on the dock was my husband losing his lunch, literallyA few semi life changing events happened this year (2012). In February while at a trail race (X Terra 15 miler) I took my third “tumble” on a trail. As best I can recall, it was a fine piece of dust I tripped over. For the third time, my beautifully original knees took the brunt of the impact. My right knee again having surgical intervention from Mother Earth. After a few sutures and 4 or 5 weeks off work (I don’t really recall how much time, other than it truly was blissful!), I began running again, this time training for Americas Finest City Half Marathon. Things were going GREAT! I was doing some core/glut work with (don’t laugh) Brazilian Butt Lift….YES, THAT one! It works! At the same time I was studying to pass my Vascular Technologist Registry boards (Ultrasound). I passed! What a GREAT feeling THAT was!

The first week of May we headed to the Turks and Caicos for a little R&R and some family fun as well as celebrating my passing the boards.

What a beautiful island (okay spit of sand) but still one of our favorite places to return to. Long story short and to get to this science experiment, all of us (4 of us) got sick. I’m not sure if it was a virus or what, but, I have not been the same since.

When we got home I decided to try a different exercise routine to add “Insanity” into my training. I figured plyometrics would be good, right? NOT! I ended up tearing my medial AND lateral meniscus! (on either side of the knee-joint, these “cushion” the femur (big bone in the thigh) and the  tibia and fibula (bones in the shin) when you land on your foot and give stability to your knee-joint) Not bad, but bad enough to require surgical intervention.

Now time  for my blood work ( I have hypercholesterolemia) and have been on medication for about 10 yrs. I mentioned that I was having unusual muscle soreness, and quite a bit of orthostatic (changing position from sitting to standing) dizziness. My BP had been running about 100/50. So my doc. took me off the med’s. I’m not sure I like being without a safety net! It was at this point I decided to do some reading, research and investigation into plant-based nutrition and see if I could manage this inherited annoyance on my own. SO, on June 14th I started my journey.

Let me say that the orthostatic dizziness has all but disappeared! I won’t know about the cholesterol levels for another couple of weeks, but I CAN tell you that the muscle soreness has gone even with the continued weight training. Much more sensible weight training, I might add.

Instead of running I am cycling on the indoor trainer to keep up what aerobic fitness I have left until my surgery is done.

Back to the plant-based nutrition: I jumped in with both feet, which is typical of me. At first I REALLY missed anything dairy! But now, 6 or so weeks into this experiment, almond milk and oat milk taste amazingly good! AND, nothing held back on this site: my poops are normal. I’ve never had normal poop. EVER! I think that I had a little dairy issue that I wouldn’t admit too?! Ya think?! Well, that and the fact that I HATE vegetables! Seriously!

So, how did this carnivore, fat loving, cheese craver overcome her loathing of all things vegetable?

I began with eating my  salads with nothing on them, and actually tasting the different flavors every vegetable had. Then I realized, I don’t hate ALL vegetables. So, I eat my favorites and leave the others out; which at this point aren’t that many. I still despise eggplant. They are beautiful to look at, but the texture and taste are yucky! I’m not hot on broccoli or carrots either. BUT, you got KALE? Oh BABEEE!!! In a smoothie, massaged for a salad, as chips….    My name is Deb, and I am a KALE AHOLIC.

So, as I savour this wonderful black bean brownie (even my carnivore friends LOVE these little bits of heaven), I bid you good health and much laughter!

One lucky girl!

Leave a Reply

