The Doctor said “GO RUN 3 MILES”.

2 Sep

If you haven’t been following along, fell asleep or decided that researching the incremental growth of dichondra was more interesting than my blog, let me refresh your memory.

I was told to stop running, maybe FOREVER, by my orthopedist about a month ago after surgery to repair, snip, sand and smooth the meniscus and some cartilage in my right knee. When I went back for my follow-up last week, those words had the header of my blog were the words he said out loud. Oh, the rest of it was “And if it hurts or swells up, cut back to 2 miles.” Really? That’s it? I was still wrapped up in the FOREVER scenario, still in mourning of the death of my friend “running”. As my husband often asks “Why do you always think in the worst sense of things?”  I know EXACTLY why, but that’s another blog.

SO, I called my BRFF (NO, not Barf, or BARF from Spaceballs fame either.) Best Running Friend Forever: AKA Connie, AKA Snow Bunnie. (She has a deep love of snow, cold and anything non desert). And we decided on a time and place to resurrect my dear friend “Running”. I think she knew my (our) friend wasn’t dead, just in a coma.

I woke up at 03:30 to begin my offerings of gratitude to the beautiful morning. Had coffee, got dressed and headed out the door at 05:00.

We were to meet at our usual rendezvous. The location that puts us within walking distance to coffee, breakfast, beer and chocolate, and the occasional glass of wine. Tempe Town Lake. Image

We started with a short walk, began a half mile run, then walked a

NCOUNTER restaurant.

quarter-mile, then back to running again. We’ve both been down this “road” before. We know it hurts. We know it gets better. We know we love it!

So, there you have the beginning of another chapter in my life, or the continuation of a chapter anyway.

I hope this gives hope to those that have been given news, like me, that they may never be able to enjoy the things they once did. Be patient with yourself, especially your physical body. Take care of your spirit and let yourself have some down time. Maybe, just maybe you’ll be as Luckie as this Girl!

Oh, and a plug for our favorite “local” breakfast/coffee/bar post run hang out:

The place is located on Mill Ave,  just a short walk south from Tempe Town Lake. They have some pretty amazing chow, and the staff is SUPER nice!

See ya’ at the races!

D

2 Responses to “The Doctor said “GO RUN 3 MILES”.”

  1. Todd Benefiel September 3, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    For whatever reason, on my computer, BRFF looks like BRIT, which of course would be your friend Brittany, and BARF looked like BART, which of course is not a character in ‘Spaceballs’, but a commuter train system in Oakland.

    I used to ride my bike around the Tempe Town Lake area back in the glory days of 1988 and 1989, and would take a break at the long-defunct Paradise Bar & Grill on Mill Avenue. Now, I get back to that area about once every two years or so…

    • oneluckiegirl September 3, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      It’s still a “happpenin’ ” location. I’ll have to see what took the place of Paradise B&G. I imagine that was quite the place to be in the late 80’s, amazing people watching I would think.
      By the time you get back for your “visit” the old Mill should be ready for you to visit. They are re-habing it to IT’S glory day.

Leave a Reply

