Paris…………….FINALLY

7 Oct

I was held hostage by high internet fees in Paris. I just refuse to pay 30 EU a day for internet!

So, after trying to post this last week, and finding out I was on the “WordPress” page, unable to save or publish my post, I have decided to make this brief and get on with the things I am TRULY passionate about: Cycling, Running, and cycling, and my dogs. Oh, and my husband.

So here’s to  5 days (4 wonderful) in Paris:

The first day there I was apparently chosen to be the Trojan horse to bring a nice upper respiratory virus into mainland Europe! (My travel friend S gave it to me. Funny neither of our spouses got it!) I stayed at the hotel for quite some time until it dawned on me “I’M IN PARIS!” I figured I could feel crappy sitting at a sidewalk cafe or in the hotel room.

So, off I went. On my own to the train station about a quarter-mile walk. The people were absolutely fantastic with helping me locate which train and which stop to get off the train for “The Catacombs” where L and our travel buddies were. I had texted L to give me a place to meet. “There’s a cafe on the corner across from the entrance to the Catacombs. It has a red awning.” Sounds simple. Thank God he chose the one with the red awning. Ironically enough he chose “The Rendezvous Cafe”. I had a nice French Onion soup, espresso, and some fantastic bread, and then a wonderful salad of heirloom tomatoes and buffalo mozzarella. The waiter was incredibly kind, checking on me frequently to make sure I had enough bread, and that the food was satisfactory.

We took the on/off bus when they finished their catacomb tour. It’s always a nice history lesson on the on/off bus, where ever you might be visiting.

The second day was the Eiffel Tower and walking around the city. As I said, after writing this once already, I’m blazing through it this time.

Day three: The Louvre and the a cruise on the Seine at night. We stayed in town the entire day. This is one of my favorite pic’s of the Tower.And a few pictures of things you don’t typically see in the “picture books”.

A bicycle built for 3. Only in Paris!

Day  four: Larry and I on our own touring the city, leaving footprints where ever we could. A nice romantic day.

Day five: I can’t believe I’m actually admitting this, but it was for our travel friend F’s Birthday and what he wanted to do: Disney Paris. I have no pictures because it just wasn’t worth the effort. It rained and the wind blew (hurricane force, the BBC said), but that wasn’t what was so annoying. Disney Europe is like a “model” of Disney. A very miniaturized version, and nowhere near what the original is. The whole vibe is wrong.

So, we left early, taking the train back. We packed our things, toasted the city with a nice bottle of wine and hit the hay.

After 2 hours in traffic we made it to the airport (I highly suggest packing only essentials and taking the train to and from the airport.) Our flight was pleasantly uneventful to O’Hare. There we were greeted by a smiling Passport Control agent. I always get a lump in my throat and a bit misty eyed when they ask you where you traveled and then say “Welcome Home!”

We quickly made our way through Customs and on the train to our terminal for the flight to Phoenix.

It was a memorable and wonderful journey. But, it’s GREAT to be home. Home with my dogs, my bike, my STUFF, and the heat and beauty that only the desert can hold for me.

So, 8 weeks of work and normalcy and then off on what I think will be a truly relaxing time with friends on Maui. T&D, F&S and my wonderful husband L.

Oh, but I have SO many more daily journeys to write about!

Dream BIG!

D

2 Responses to “Paris…………….FINALLY”

  1. Todd Benefiel October 11, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Wait a minute: The Rendezvous Cafe with friends? French onion soup and heirloom tomatoes? You passed up a Parisian McDonald’s for THIS?

    • oneluckiegirl October 14, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      WELL, actually, I DID go to the McCafe across from the hotel……for a mocha frappe! Oh, and free internet…sort of free.

Leave a Reply

