Staying Grounded in a Tail Spin

14 Oct

What a week of revelations for me!  I’ll start with the trivial and inanimate objects that shouldn’t mean anything in the grand scheme of things, but somehow they do!

My cell phone: I currently have a Samsung Bright Side. Why? Because I dropped my Slackberry  in the pool in June. L and I decided to go the “less technology is better” route and got the Bright Side, thinking we could do just calling and texting. Then it was adding email. The phone is okay, I guess. It’s a phone. I find that I keep hitting “END” when I slide the “sleep screen” to answer the call. Ultimately, I want an iPhone 4s. It’s that simple. I will pay the price for data.

Number 2: I am working 21 days with one day off. My choice. BUT, my director has decided that we all need to work an hour less each day to “flex” our budget. SO, all the O.T. is kind of NOT O.T.  That’s what I get for being a bit money hungry, right?!

Number 3: Cycling and, well, mainly cycling, has become like a second job. I talked with J, my coach. Well, WAS my coach until I decided that the reason my life seems like it’s being micro managed by everyone but me is because I am ALLOWING it to happen that way. I mean, I’m paying him to “micromanage” my training. The thing is,  cycling isn’t keeping me happy. I am the only one that can make me happy. It’s pretty simple actually. So, J and I talked and I am leaving the bike behind for now as I go in search of my passion(s). I’m sure I will return to the bike again, and if coaching is needed, I will return to J (Justin Peschka, if you need a GREAT cycling coach, or a running/ ultra running coach). It’s just that for me, cycling without having running follow it, is like decaf coffee, non alcoholic beer. It’s just not right!

So, today I got up and decided to do what makes me happy TODAY. I took my pup for a walk and then headed for the hills. I intended on a 90 minute hike. I came back 2 hours later. Something about the desert on a beautiful fall morning is comforting and the earth just seems to smile.

THE “K” dog. My partner in crime.

Here’s to exploring and finding our passion(s) where ever they might be hiding.

Be Happy!

8 Responses to “Staying Grounded in a Tail Spin”

  1. Todd Benefiel October 20, 2012 at 3:34 am #

    Now let me get this straight: you’re being safe and politically correct and staying away from lawsuits by not printing the DOG’S name, and only his initial? Did he make this request? Do you think an angry dog from his past might see his name and come after him? Look at me: I use MY full name, and no revenge-minded canines have attacked ME yet!

    • oneluckiegirl October 21, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Here’s the semi true story, believe it or not. I’ve left out a few things and there’s some I forgot…..Oh, those are the lyrics to a song. But, useful here.

      “K-dog 7500” is or WAS in the Gangsta witless protection program. I was trying to provide protection by not using her name, but YOU brought it up! She witnessed the horrific gangsta rap of Puggsta da BIG, AKA Moon Doggie, and has since been sequestered in her “village” home for the last 6 years after the viscous “run down” by some local “Yorkies” who were staying at the residence of Soul Fly’s lead singer. (That part IS true).

      Her REAL name is Kichee. The Japanese meaning is “Fortunate One”. Seriously! Look it up!

      So, no “bike chaser” dogs have found you? Hmmmmmmmm

  2. Todd Benefiel October 21, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    Good lord! I apologize for possibly spoiling your dog’s chances at escaping her sordid past! If you ever bring her to work, I’m sure she’ll be pawcuffed and in the company of several guards. And no, no interference from bike-chasing dogs yet…although I did have a javelina stare at me once.

    • oneluckiegirl October 21, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      She’s okay with the minimal publicity. She’s learned to “lay low” when the growling gets ruff.

      Really? A Javelina? I had a similar incident while I was running. I’m glad their eyesight is bad and that they’re herbivores. Although, I never trust a herbivore. You never know when they’ll change their mind!

      • Todd Benefiel October 21, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

        Heck, they could still take a bite and spit it out!

      • oneluckiegirl October 21, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

        A bite? You mean they don’t thing we taste “just like prickly pear cactus?”

      • Todd Benefiel October 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

        Well, I guess that would depend on what after-shave I’m wearing that morning…

      • oneluckiegirl October 24, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

        I didn’t know you put after-shave on your legs!

Leave a Reply

