No Apologies

24 Oct

I have been tossing and turning most of the night because of a comment I made to a co-worker via text message: “I felt abused”she texted. She was referring to the workload she maintained. I texted back “I’m sorry I was a part of it.”  Later I texted “I’m not sure why I said I was sorry. I didn’t direct the day, I truly have nothing to be sorry for.” I didn’t receive a return text.

For some reason, women in particular feel it necessary to apologize for EVERYTHING! And I am no exception. My husband is constantly asking me “For what?” “What are you sorry for? Did you hurt me? Did you cause some pain to be inflicted physically or mentally?”

I secretly think it is because we feel the need to be in control. Therefore, if we apologize it will sound as if we were in command of the situation. How incredibly egotistic is THAT?!

Since I am the most irresponsible person I know (infants included), I will refrain from apologizing on the spot. Unless I’ve hurt you.

Stay Happy.

D

Yes, THIS is the Puggsta AKA Moon Doggie. SHE’S Happy, and never apologizes!

One Response to “No Apologies”

  1. Todd Benefiel October 30, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I had a friend apologize in a text yesterday, and I had no idea what she was apologizing for. Sorry Deb, but you are not alone!

Leave a Reply

