THE WEATHER IS HERE, WISH YOU WERE BEAUTIFUL! (Jimmy Buffett)

9 Apr

Well, I must say I am incredibly happy that I rode my bike Saturday and Sunday, because today we had 50+ mph winds AND RAIN! 

I’ve never seen it rain MUD before! So glad it was a swim day today!

Saturday’s ride was a beauty. Not just visually with the desert daisies and lupine blooming, but the gentle “rollers” along McDowell Mtn. Road, and the 2.5% grade up “9mile”.  I rode alone. But there are so many cyclists out on this portion of the road and always someone to be your “rabbit.” Almost 45 miles. Then a nice little 3 mile run. I’ve started using GU Roctane drink mix. I’m a heavy sweater (NO, not the ugly kind you get at Christmas from your Aunt Jane!) so the extra electrolytes really help! I added a scoop of Carbo Pro to give me some extra calories (totaled 350). I took 4 GU gels with me and a half a bag of GU Chomps, so I had a total of about 900 calories to take me through the bike and the run. I hadn’t taken in that many calories in past training years. WHAT A DIFFERENCE! The post ride-run brick felt like I was flying! Thanks Coach Michelle!

So, there’s the weather report mixed with the training report.

Sunday I spent riding with my “girlfriends”. I joined a group a few months ago NO WOMAN LEFT BEHIND. It’s a FABULOUS group! And true to their mantra they didn’t leave me when I failed on the hills of Mummy Mtn. We regrouped and headed on for more fun. If you are a female and haven’t involved yourself with a group to ride with, DO IT! It’s like having a whole bunch of sisters of all ages and riding abilities. So much laughter and SO much fun! And ALWAYS coffee and breakfast afterward!

 

 

 

4 Responses to “THE WEATHER IS HERE, WISH YOU WERE BEAUTIFUL! (Jimmy Buffett)”

  1. Todd Benefiel April 10, 2013 at 4:18 am #

    Hey, I experienced that wind and rain on my bike ride, too…only mine was home from work, and I was dead tired, and had no GU Roctane to pep me up! Oh, and after a stop at Target, I had about 500 pounds of groceries in my saddle bags, too!

    • oneluckiegirl April 13, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

      You know, THAT is a GREAT way to work out! So, did you ride home in a “Wheelie” position?

      • Todd Benefiel April 13, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

        Yes, until I was attacked by wolves, who ate all my groceries.

      • oneluckiegirl April 14, 2013 at 1:17 am #

        We have wolves here? Hahaha. Okay Riding Hood, I guess we’ll have to find out where All Seasons Cyclist buys his “wolf repellent”!

Leave a Reply

