Rambling

12 Jul

So, I’ve been in a bit of a writing funk. I thought rambling might help shake out the dried up crap in my brain.

So, I started thinking of rambling. I ended up watching a young Steve Martin with a banjo “I’m a ramblin’, just a ramblin’ guy.”, On YouTube. Then I remembered the first time I saw him. We were in Las Vegas for my high school graduation. He was the opening act for Helen Reddy. So what ever happened to HER? She is alive and well and living back in the USA as of January 2013. 

Why are people offended by words? We have this new “law” at work now. NO foul language. So, what do we do? We make up shit and give it the meaning of the offensive word. How stupid and egotistical and childish and fucking fun is THAT? I mean, we’re ALL over the age of 18, and we just can’t allow another Politically INCORRECT item to be taken away from us. We even have little clusters of us that have formed subversive, covert units of Politically Incorrectness. 

I think this is why our society is becoming so violent and just plain nasty toward each other. We can’t even look at each other without the other being offended in some way. No wonder kids today are focused on their iPods! Shit, it’s the only way they can stay out of trouble!

The only thing that truly offends me is terminal ignorance. I deplore it! There’s no excuse for it. That’s what GOOGLE is for. Look it up stupid! Even if you misspell it, GOOGLE will figure it out for you!

GOOGLE. THAT is the company I want to work for! Is 54 too old to change careers? How much debt would I incur going back to school. Would it be worth it? Yes, if I what I did for “work” were my passion. 

Passion Fruit. Lilikoi. I had a piece of lilikoi pie once. I licked the plate. We were at a restaurant. I think they’d seen that move before. They weren’t offended. I love pie. I think PIE will be the next big “food” item to make the “hot list”. 

Yes, I am rambling. My mom had a Rambler when I was little. We had a lot of old used cars when I was little. I remember her telling me once “Honey, if the car catches on fire, just get out and run. I’ll be okay.” Seriously! 

My first car DID catch on fire. It was a 1978 Triumph Spitfire. It was brand new. The catalytic converter overheated and caught the engine on fire. It got fixed. I slept in that car in the parking lot of Scottsdale Fashion Square when I was 19. I didn’t have the $6.00 for a nights lodging at the Motel 6 down the block. Seriously! That was in 1978……The T.V. cost an extra quarter. They gave you a key that somehow turned it “on”.

I’ve lived in a lot of motels. A lot of “Motor Lodges” “Motor Courts”, and the occasional Trailer Park. Just rambling through.

So I will leave you with the lyrics of a song that always motivates me:

“You don’t need to know who may help you make it come true, just say SOMEDAY I WILL You don’t have to work it all out, you don’t have to tear it all apart, all you need is a place to start. And if it never worked before, try it just once more. That’s what your heart is for. Whether it’s big or small, if you have a passion at all. Just say someday I will.” Jimmy Buffett.

My life: I wouldn’t change a thing.

 

2 Responses to “Rambling”

  1. Todd Benefiel July 13, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    So what are you saying, I can’t cuss at work anymore? Tell you what…I’ll stop when the doctors stop. As I’m sure they’ve been told to do.

    I would’ve LOVED to have a ’78 Spitfire as my first car…or second or third, for that matter. Mine was a 1974 Toyota pickup, which I received from my uncle for graduation in 1981. He let me pick from a collection of old cars he had, and I was hoping against all hope he still owned his orange 240-Z, but he didn’t. And actually…I don’t think the truck he delivered to my door was the one I’d picked a few months earlier.

    And the last time I’d checked here, your page was still a flavor of pink, so yes, this changeover is a nice surprise. Very cool, and VERY blue.

    And those are my ramblings for today.

    • oneluckiegirl July 15, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

      Todd,
      From personal experience I would have to say that the pick up was by far the better choice for drive in movie going! The Z would have been fantastic for cruising the 101 though!
      See if you notice any other changes.
      I haven’t seen many Status Pro updates.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

