The Time When You Truly Need A Friend, Is When You Find Yourself

13 Jul

Maybe the title should read: What do you do when your “ride buddy” calls in sick? 

Yes, I did come up with that title on my own. I wrote it down many years ago when I truly needed a friend to talk to. But, that’s another story.

I have yet to meet said “ride buddy”, but hearsay has it that we ride at about the same speed and have the same goals in place. She is racing Ironman Arizona and I continue to train for any and all possibilities! I received a text message about 04:00 that she was too ill to meet for our 05:30 tires down ride through McDowell Mountain into New River and up 9 mile hill. 

So, off I went. I looked to the East and had Golden Earring’s classic “Radar Love” find it’s way into my head. Particularly “Slip into a nude sunrise”.ImageI took off to the West, I wasn’t feeling so hot myself. My gut was a bit “iffy”. I took a pretty slow ride over to Paradise Valley. It was an absolutely gorgeous morning though. I made it to Tatum Blvd., one of the “crossing” hazards of the ride. Four lanes of traffic plus the suicide lane. Ahhh, but it’s SATURDAY at 06:00 and folks are still sleeping! I had a clear shot.

I knew I needed to get something in my gut, I had another 3 hours of riding to get through!

I searched my bento box for some TUMS, found the little bag I keep them in, but wait! There’s something MUCH better in here! GINGER CHEWS! And it wasn’t dried out either!!!! That did the trick! Thirty minutes later I downed a GU Peanut Butter gel and started the “interval training” for the session. A couple of inclines along Cheney up into “Deep Pockets” and “Fancy Pants” neighborhoods at the foothills of Mummy Mountain and Camelback. I hit my goals AND got some pic’s to share. Side note: I also took 4 date and coconut rolls with me. They were amazing fuel!ImageThis is one of my favorite views headed west on Solano Drive, It’s a flat portion of road, so it lends to a beautiful view if you look up. Locally, we call it Praying Monk. I’m not sure what the real name is. 

I cut across Camelback Road just west of Scottsdale Fashion Square. Again, no traffic light to help me out! But, again, the mall doesn’t open until 10:00! I rode through the wonderful neighborhood of Arcadia. (More deep pockets!) What’s nice about “Old Money” neighborhoods is that people don’t really live there. So the roads are pretty vacant most of the time. At least early morning on the week ends! AND they usually are extremely cautious when driving. I mean, who wants cheap ass bike paint spoiling their Bentley?

There aren’t many cars, but let me tell you: The Tour de France brings out EVERY cyclist within 20 miles in this little area! And all the “bad ass” week end warriors on their bikes with their buddies trying to out sprint each other. It’s kind of funny to watch actually!

I head back into PV the way I went out. Here’s a pic of one of the more unusual architectural “old neighborhood” designs. Appropriately, this is on Casa Blanca Road.

ImageI thought the saguaro was kind of comical looking set between the two minarets. 

Another 50 miler in the books. Not too fast, but it got done!

Keep the rubber side down my friends.

6 Responses to “The Time When You Truly Need A Friend, Is When You Find Yourself”

  1. Todd Benefiel July 18, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    I think it’s good to ride by yourself every now and then (or every day, in my case): stop when you want, your choice of travel speed, and the treats you consume along the way need not be shared!

    And I’ll say it again: pay the $18 for the domain name, and do the rest for free!

    • oneluckiegirl July 21, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

      Ah, yes! I HATE sharing! It’s ALL for me!
      Yes, I will be going the least expensive route!
      Stayed tuned!

      • Todd Benefiel July 21, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

        Good! I’ll stay tuned! And I see you’ve removed your gravatar photo…if you’re being charged for that, then be aware, you’re being ripped off!

      • oneluckiegirl July 21, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

        I added another gravatar, and it appears when I go to the gravatar site. Then it disappears. I think it’s WP’s way of getting me to give in and pay!
        And THAT was quick! Did you ride in the rain today?

      • Todd Benefiel July 21, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

        No, but I walked home from the theater in it! We’ll see what happens tomorrow on my way to work.

  2. oneluckiegirl August 3, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Were you “Singin’ in the Rain”? Letting a smile be your umbrella?

Leave a Reply

