Changin’ It Up Just A Bit

21 Jul

If you’ve been following along, then you know that I’m a pretty avid “athlete”. I say that loosely because I’m not at all fast, and I’m really not very good at it. The one thing I will say, is that I have a HUGE passion for sport. Except maybe Curling, and that gymnastics thing they do with a ball and some dopey ribbon on a stick. (A.D.D. kicked in, pardon).

So, I’ve taken away a “sport” from my disciplines. Let me just say this: I HATE SWIMMING! I hate swimming with the same passion I love other sports. So, that being said, it makes training for triathlon VERY difficult! So, it’s gone. Off the list of “things to do today”!

I’ve exchanged my triathlon days for duathlon (just run/bike/run). The problem is this, with the exception of a race in Switzerland, the Zofingen duathlon, Powerman.com, there isn’t much out there in the way of long course racing. I want something like 13.1mile run, 140mile bike, and a 26.2 mile run. OR LONGER! 

So, my blog will still be about fun in the sun, but more dedicated to seeing just how fast I can run at 54 years old. My training for a half marathon in November (November 3, to be exact) and a marathon on January 19, 2014 starts tomorrow. Those are my goal races, SO FAR. I’ll see if I can throw in a duathlon and a bike race before hand.

So, stay tuned all you cool cats!

Keep the rubber side down kiddies!

2 Responses to “Changin’ It Up Just A Bit”

  1. Todd Benefiel July 21, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

    So, I’m sorry, you’re leaving for Switzerland when?

    • oneluckiegirl July 21, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

      Yes, and just in time for the next heat wave here! I’ll send you a post card!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

