A Little Rain, A Little Breeze, And A Few Miles

8 Sep
Rain in the desert

Rain in the desert

IMG_0312

It doesn’t look like much, but the haze over the mountains is a nice little rain shower!

I AM ONE HAPPY GIRL!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Why, yes, I DID run up this hill!!!

 

I awoke not only to some nice dense cloud cover, but to some RAIN!!!!

I know, I know it’s JUST rain! Well, it’s not “just rain”  in the desert. It’s like CHRISTMAS when it rains! And when it rains and there’s no lightning, WELL, it’s CHRISTMAS AND MY BIRTHDAY!

So I had a WONDERFUL run this morning. Which was kind of unexpected since I did a 7 mile TEMPO run on Thursday.

 

 

 

Here’s the other “thing” about Thursday: I decided to try yet again, the GENERATION UCAN. I drank it as I ran along my merry way. I couldn’t get the last bit out of the bottle, so when I came home I just left it on the counter (on its side) for a few hours.  When I took the lid off to wash the bottle, there was this thick white gritty UCAN adhered to the top and side of the inside of the bottle. I mean, it was close to being cement! No wonder I’ve had such a gut issue with this stuff! I thought the diarrhea was just a little “bug” I kept getting…..every time I drank the UCAN!

So, today I took my 2 litre hydration pack and 3 GU’s. I had a GREAT run! Not like last week when I was exhausted after the first 5 miles!

I did a 12 miler today and threw in about 3 miles of hills, maintained my goal pace (actually a little faster) even with the hills and the stop lights!

So, UCAN: Go throw yourself in the garbage! And for those interested, here’s a little more “not so pretty” info on said product at carbsanity.blogspot.com  under Carb-Sane Asylum

Here’s a picture of the stuff mixed in water

UCAN, just mixed. Looks yummy, eh?

UCAN, just mixed. Looks yummy, eh?

As it "settled" as it would in the container while I was running

As it “settled” as it would in the container while I was running

After I poured off the "water" this is what's left. And probably what's left in my gut!!!!After I poured off the “water” this is what’s left. And probably what’s left in my gut!!!!

2 Responses to “A Little Rain, A Little Breeze, And A Few Miles”

  1. Todd Benefiel September 8, 2013 at 6:06 am #

    UCAN: Unnecessary Cement and Nutrients?

Leave a Reply

