Thanks Todd

23 Oct

I’ve been in quite a funk lately. So much so that a friend of mine asked if I had been posting anything, thinking that his “following” had somehow been deleted.  “Nope. I’m sure it’s working fine.”  He gave me a few suggestions, to try and get out of my funk, to try and expand my posts beyond the “It’s all about me and my not so great athleticism”, so here goes.

I’m sitting here watching “Storage Wars”. It reminded me of when my mom went to a garage sale sometime back in the early eighties, in the not so beautiful Bullhead City, AZ,  and brought back, among other things, 2 robes. Not just ANY girlie robes. These were BOXING robes! One was a nice blue satin with a white collar with a red axe on the back. The other had a nice terry cloth lining and a plush, dark blue velvet exterior with an oversized hood. On the back it too was emblazoned with a large red axe, with the name JAMES BROADAXE BROAD.

He  would have had a shot at an olympic medal had there not been a boycott.

He went on to win the NABF Heavyweight title in 1984 after 8 rounds with Eddie Gregg. He lost to future Champ Tim Witherspoon in 2 rounds in 1985. And, I sometimes wonder if his demise had a bit to do with being the sparring partner of one Mike Tyson?

Sadly, he died in 2001 at age 43.  

The above information provided by Wikipedia.

You just never know what’s lying behind those locks in those locked storage boxes.

And sometimes it takes a friend with a key to unlock those memories in your mind.

Thanks Todd.

2 Responses to “Thanks Todd”

  1. Todd Benefiel October 24, 2013 at 5:02 am #

    Hey, you’re welcome! Glad to help…although it concerns me that I now have in my possession the power that is the key to your mind!

    And the big question: do you still have the robes?

    • oneluckiegirl October 24, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

      So that key didn’t allow access to the “robe locker”?

      No, the lovely blue velvet robe was given to my brother while he was visiting from Europe. I’m sure it’s been donated to a homeless shelter by now. And I’m not sure where the satin robe ended up.
      Perhaps this will begin a new mystery investigation. On second thought: Nah.

Leave a Reply

